NZAS #5: From Benguet State University To The University of Auckland!

Kia Ora!
I have mixed emotions as my journey to NZ will truly begin soon. I feel sad to leave a handful of dear people in my country but at the same time I also feel excited to meet new people and study in the highest-ranked university in New Zealand. I still cannot believe that I made it here.  It’s truly a blessing that I have been chosen to be a recipient of a prestigious New Zealand Scholarship program. Without the scholarship, studying at the University of Auckland would be next to impossible. Hence, I am grateful for the opportunity.

I really wanted to pursue Commerce (Business Management) at Saint Louis University in 2004 but my parents could not afford it during those days. So I grabbed the opportunity when a scholarship (full-tuition free) was offered to me to study agribusiness management at Benguet State University. Thankfully, I graduated in 2008 with consistent mark. It may not be as prestigious as Saint Louis University, Ateneo de Manila University, De La Salle University or UP Diliman yet I shall never feel inferior about it. In fact, part of my character and the foundation skills that I have were honed in this humble state university. Wherever I go or whatever I’ll pursue, I hope to always fulfill the trust reposed in me by my parents, my nation, and my alma mater.

“Wherever I go or whatever I’ll pursue, I hope to be reminded to always fulfill the trust reposed in me by my parents, my nation, and my alma mater”

Now, I shall continue my journey. From a humble state university to a world-class university, this quest is seemingly a challenge full of excitement and uncertainties. The University of Auckland is the largest university in New Zealand, located in the country’s largest city, Auckland. It is the highest-ranked university in the country, being ranked 81st worldwide in the 2016/17 QS World University Rankings. Even so, I shall remain positive that I am going to love studying here as it provides plenty of opportunities to learn and to experience both the city and outdoor life in New Zealand.

Apart from You, I can do nothing.

👣The Official Traveler

 

Leave a Reply

